Laboratory of Human Behavioral Pharmacology (LHBP)

Craig R. Rush, Ph.D. - Principal Investigator
Joshua A. Lile, Ph.D. Principal Investigator
William W. Stoops, Ph.D. - Principal Investigator
465 East High Street, Suite 204B
Lexington, KY 40507
(859) 257-5388
Fax: (859) 257-768

The Laboratory of Human Behavioral Pharmacology (LHBP), a research unit in the Department of Behavioral Science at the University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center, was established in 1999 and currently supports the research of three principal investigators: Craig R. Rush, Joshua A. Lile and William W. Stoops. The mission of the LHBP is four-fold. First, through its research, the LHBP aims to elucidate the biological, pharmacological and environmental factors that contribute to substance use disorders. Second, research activities in LHBP are also focused on identifying putative pharmacotherapies for the management of cocaine, methamphetamine and cannabis use disorder using sophisticated human laboratory techniques. Third, the LHBP is conducting several clinical trials of novel interventions for cocaine use disorder. Fourth, the LHBP has as its mission to train pre-doctoral and post-doctoral fellows, medical students and psychiatry residents in substance-abuse research.

Research in the LHBP uses principles of pharmacology and behavioral analysis to determine the behavioral and neuropharmacological underpinnings of drug use disorders. Facilities are available for the conduct of outpatient and inpatient experiments, as well as clinical trials. A computerized data-collection system custom designed for the conduct of human behavioral pharmacology research is used, which completely automates the collection of relevant behavioral and physiological data. These research activities are primarily funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA).

Laboratory of Human Behavioral Pharmacology Staff

Graduate Students

Frances Wagner, RN - Clinical Research Nurse
Fpwagn2@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388
Justin Strickland
justrickland@uky.edu 
(859) 257-5388
Michelle Gray - Research Analyst
michelle.gray@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388
Erika Pike
erika.pike@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388
Bryan Hall - Research Analyst
btha222@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388

Post Doctoral Fellows

Rita Basconi - Laboratory Technician
rita.basconi@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388
Anna Reynolds, PhD
anna.reynolds@uky.edu 
(859) 257-5388

Alisha Eversole - Laboratory Technician
anev222@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388

Joseph Alcorn III, PhD
Joseph.alcorn@uky.edu  
(859) 257-5388

Mary Ann Kincer - Laboratory Technician Sr.
maryannkincer@uky.edu
(859) 257-5388

Geeet Parikh - Laboratory Technician
geet.parikh@uky.edu  
(859) 257-5388

Ashely Embree- Prevention Coordinator
ashely.embree@uky.edu    
(859) 257-5388